Two Sisters in Suburbia

Life in the Kiddy Lane

Apron Strings

Come on, you know you want to bust me out and start a project. Only this time maybe finish it?

Love, Sewing Machine

With all the cooking and baking my daughter has started helping me with in the kitchen, I decided to get her an apron. Better yet, why not make it myself? Sure, with a 21mo old and a 6mo old it should be a breeze, right? So, five hours, two tantrums, four diaper changes, one meal, one snack, one outfit (mine) changed due to spit up (baby’s), one outfit (baby’s) changed due to poop (baby’s), a rousing round of Old MacDonald and an episode of Sophia the First later… C-lo’s apron was done.

I am still not quite sure what I was thinking because the house was a mess and all the little things I do to keep up with the kids were left undone making for a very unorganized evening. However, she loved it and brought it out today exclaiming, “Cooking? Nana bwead?” Completely worth it!

20130419-155151.jpg
The fabric was one I had purchased a few years ago and the lining is a repurposed silk bed sheet. I created a basic pattern on my own using parchment paper and decided to add the extra details like the ruffle and the adjustable button neck tie as I went along. I wanted to include a little pocket on the front but I couldn’t find a fabric that would work so I skipped it.

Maybe my next project will be a matching apron for myself. My daughter looks very cute in it and as I watched her standing on her tip-toes on her stool as she stirred some pancake batter I realized I would probably be the one holding onto her apron strings for a while.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by in Sewing and tagged , .