Two Sisters in Suburbia

Life in the Kiddy Lane

The Day After Christmas

It’s the day after Christmas and while the holidays are fun and exciting, I usually make a big sigh of relief. The tree didn’t burn down, most of the ornaments remained intact, this year’s batch of Christmas goodies were completed, gifts were bought and wrapped, among the kids there is only a single bruise, traditions were followed and dinner was a success.

The only question that remains is what to do with the leftovers? So after a quick scour of the internet I found a recipe for a turkey casserole with a biscuit crust. The only thing about a recipe for leftovers is that you don’t know what and how much you’re going to have. So, I followed the basic idea of the recipe, but for the filling skipped out on the things I didn’t have, like celery, parsnips and mushrooms, and added stuff I did have like mashed potatoes and gravy and a lot of carrots. For the biscuits I did not have cheddar cheese or buttermilk. The cheddar I replaced with feta and romano in the quantities I had on hand which made for a savory taste and the buttermilk I didn’t want to mess around too much with so I used 1 cup of skim milk, 1 tablespoon of vinegar and 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt. 20121227-140814.jpg20121227-140835.jpgThe inspiration for this casserole comes from Just a Taste. Enjoy and Happy Holidays!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2012 by in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , .